Texas Handgun License
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for licensing and monitoring Texans who choose to carry a handgun. Learn how to apply for a license, receive proper training, and more below.
Applying for a handgun license
To get a Texas license to carry (LTC) a handgun, you must:
- Be 21 or older unless active duty military.
- Meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun.
Information about specific eligibility can be found on the Texas Department of Public Safety Handgun Licensing website.
- Information on Licensing and Registration.
- Frequently Asked Questions on the application process.
- Frequently Asked Questions about eligibility.
How to apply for a license:
- Determine if you qualify for a discount through a "Special Condition" status and review eligibility and citizenship requirements.
- Apply online and pay required fees.
- Attend four to six hours of classroom training, and pass the written and firearm proficiency exams (unless not required due to a special condition application).
- Submit supporting documents including the Certificate of Training (LTC-100 or LTC-101) and all other documents listed in your receipt or email.
- Follow fingerprinting instructions.
When the application packet is completed and received by the Department of Public Safety, your license will issue within 60 days.
Handgun license fees
An original LTC costs $40. Renewals cost $40. Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable.
Texas law does provide some discounts if you meet certain special conditions. See the complete list of fees along with the special conditions.
Handgun license training
You must attend a four to six hour in-person or online classroom training and pass a written examination with a certified instructor.
Classroom training will cover:
- Laws related to weapons and the use of deadly force.
- Handgun use and safety, including controlling and securing openly carried handguns.
- Non-violent dispute resolution.
- Safe storage.
After you pass the online classroom training, you'll need to show that you’re skilled at shooting a handgun by attending a range instruction class. Before you go, contact an instructor to know if you will need a handgun for the course.
Applicants for certification as a Texas License to Carry a Handgun Instructor must:
- Meet eligibility criteria in Texas Government Code, §411.172 and §411.190.
- Be at least 21 years old, 18 if active-duty military.
- Meet federal rules to buy a handgun.
- Provide proof of certification to instruct others in handgun use (Texas Government Code §411.190) as listed below:
- Certification by Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) as a firearm instructor.
- Certification by the National Rifle Association as a firearm instructor.
- Certification under Occupations Code Chapter 1702.
- Proof of graduation from a certified, handgun instructor school.
- Submit a completed application and pay the fee.
- Submit the required supporting documents.
- Complete training.